Roberts Repeats as Individual Champ, Edgewood Captures Women's Crown at #NACCxcchamps

Edgewood College won its second title in three years Saturday at the NACC Cross Country Championships hosted by Aurora at Oakhurst Forest Preserve.
Edgewood College won its second title in three years Saturday at the NACC Cross Country Championships hosted by Aurora at Oakhurst Forest Preserve.

AURORA, Ill. ( --- Benedictine University junior Emma Roberts captured her second consecutive individual title and Edgewood College won its second team title in four years at the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Cross Country Championships Saturday at Oakhurst Forest Preserve.

Final Results

With five runners in the top 19, Edgewood posted a total of 54 points to edge Benedictine (58) and Aurora (59) for the title. Concordia Wisconsin (92) took fourth follwoed by MSOE (128) and Wisconsin Lutheran (130). Dominican (197), Concordia Chicago (220), Lakeland (248), Mount Mary (256) and Alverno (323) rounded out the team scoring. 

Roberts led virtually from start-to-finish, covering the 6-kilometer course in 21 minutes, 41.25 seconds to edge Edgewood's Piper Atnip (21:49.31) for the title. Roberts' time established a new meet championship record, bettering the mark of 21:58.1 set by Aurora's Emily Paull at the 2014 Championships. That time was also posted at Oakhurst Forest Preserve. Roberts is also the first repeat champion since Paull (2013-14) and the third overall (Katie Schommer, WLC, 2010-11) in the NACC's 13 seasons.

Aurora's Jackie Schane (22:47.53) - the 2016 champion - and Jazzmine Reyes (23:06.45) came across third and fourth followed by Edgewood's Taylor Mair (23:50.59) in fifth. Concordia Wisconsin's Molly Wirtz (23:50.59), Benedictine's Rebecca McDonough (23:50.71), MSOE's Patricia Bray (23:52.64), Aurora's Sandy Barrientos (23:53.51) and Edgewood's Clara Berning (23:56.38) rounded out the top 10 finishers.

The top 15 eligible placewinners received all-conference honors. As a transfer in her first year at Benedictine, 15th-place finisher Celeste Ibarra was not eligible as a result of the Eagles' aborted reclassification to NCAA Division II.

The NACC also handed out three major awards at the championships. Roberts repeated as NACC Runner of the Year, while 14th-place finisher Mackenzie Dorth of Concordia Wisconsin was named the league's Freshman of the Year as the first true freshman across the line. The final individual honor went to Edgewood head coach Bethany Brewster, who was selected by her peers as the 2018 NACC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year.

Up Next: All 14 NACC women's programs will compete at the NCAA Division III Midwest Championships on November 10. The event will be held at Whitetail Golf Course in Colfax, Wisconsin, with UW-Eau Claire serving as host. 

2018 NACC Cross Country Championships
At Aurora, Ill.
(Oakhurst Forest Preserve)
Women's Team Scores -- 1. Edgewood 54, 2. Benedictine 58, 3. Aurora 59, 4. Concordia Wisconsin 92, 5. MSOE 128, 6. Wisconsin Lutheran 130, 7. Dominican 197, 8. Concordia Chicago 220, 9. Lakeland 248, 10. Mount Mary 256, 11. Alverno 323. Rockford, Illinois Tech and Marian did not field complete teams.

2018 NACC Runner of the Year - Emma Roberts, Benedictine
2018 NACC Freshman of the Year
- Mackenzie Dorth, Concordia Wisconsin
2018 NACC Coach of the Year
- Bethany Brewster, Edgewood

2018 All-Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Women's Cross Country Team 

  1 Roberts, Emma             JR Benedictine (Ill.)    21:41.25            
  2 Atnip, Piper              SR Edgewood              21:49.31             
  3 Schane, Jackie            SR Aurora                22:47.53             
  4 Reyes, Jazzmine           SR Aurora                23:06.45          
  5 Mair, Taylor              JR Edgewood              23:44.89                 
  6 Wirtz, Molly              SR Concordia (Wis.)      23:50.59                 
  7 McDonough, Rebecca        SR Benedictine (Ill.)    23:50.71                 
  8 Bray, Patricia            SR MSOE                  23:52.64                 
  9 Barrientos, Sandy         JR Aurora                23:53.51                 
 10 Berning, Clara            SO Edgewood              23:56.38                
 11 Youell, Charlotte         JR Benedictine (Ill.)    24:11.41                
 12 Krenz, Anna               SO Concordia Un          24:14.58                
 13 Verbeke, Emma             SO Concordia (Wis.)      24:16.26                
 14 Dorth, Mackenzie          FR Concordia (Wis.)      24:17.56                
 16 Weide, Hannah             SR Wisconsin Lutheran    24:32.03