Aurora Sweeps 2018-19 NACC All-Sports Awards

Aurora Sweeps 2018-19 NACC All-Sports Awards

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- Aurora University has been named the recipient of both Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) All-Sports Awards for the 2018-19 academic year. The awards are indicative of a program's overall excellence across all league sports.

The Spartans captured the women's title for the fifth time in seven years - and sixth time overall - while taking home the men's title for the eighth time in the NACC's 13 seasons of existence.

It is the fifth time a single institution has swept both All-Sports Awards.

2018-19 NACC All-Sports Awards Standings

Aurora compiled an 11.889 index, edging runner-up Concordia University Wisconsin's 11.556. The Spartans captured four league regular-season titles (golf, volleyball, indoor track & field, outdoor track & field) and one tournament title (volleyball) during 2018-19. The Falcons won the regular-season title in softball and finished in the top-five of all nine NACC women's sports.

Benedictine University was third (9.750), just ahead of Milwaukee School of Engineering (9.625) in fourth, Wisconsin Lutheran College (9.222) in fifth and Dominican University (8.917) in sixth.

Concordia University Chicago (7.875) was seventh, Edgewood College (7.333) was eighth, and Lakeland University was ninth (7.222).

NACC newcomer Illinois Institute of Technology was 10th (5.286), Marian University (5.222) 11th, Rockford University (3.250) 12th, and Alverno College (3.143) 13th.

Five different institutions won NACC regular-season titles this season. In addition to Aurora and CUW, Dominican swept regular-season and tournament titles in soccer, Edgewood was the champion in cross country and won both regular-season and tournament crowns in tennis, while Wisconsin Lutheran captured regular-season and tournament titles in basketball. Additionally, MSOE captured the softball tournament title.

The women's standings use a 16-point base.

Aurora compiled an 11.750 index, winning the golf championship and sharing the outdoor track & field title with Benedictine. The Spartans also claimed tournament titles in baseball and basketball.

MSOE (10.722) was second, just ahead of Benedictine (10.111) in third and Concordia Wisconsin (9.750) in fourth. 

Illinois Tech (7.250) placed fifth, Edgewood (6.875) sixth, Dominican (6.643) seventh and Wisconsin Lutheran (6.444) eighth.

Lakeland (4.450), Concordia Chicago (4.333), Rockford (4.071) and Marian (4.000) round out the rest of the table.

Seven of 12 institutions won either a regular-season or tournament title in 2018-19. MSOE won the regular-season soccer title, shared the regular-season basketball crown with Concordia Wisconsin, and won the volleyball tournament title. Benedictine won the regular-season volleyball title and completed the cross country-indoor-outdoor trifecta. Illinois Tech swept the regular-season and tournament titles in tennis. Dominican captured the soccer tournament title, while Concordia Chicago won the baseball regular-season crown.

The men's standings use a 15-point base.

Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference
All-Sports Awards Champions By Year

Year   Men   Women
2018-19   Aurora   Aurora
2017-18   Aurora   Concordia Wisconsin
2016-17   Benedictine   Concordia Wisconsin
2015-16   Benedictine   Aurora
2014-15   Aurora   Aurora
2013-14   MSOE   Aurora
2012-13   Aurora   Aurora
2011-12   Concordia Wisconsin   Dominican
2010-11   Aurora   Concordia Wisconsin
2009-10   Concordia Wisconsin    Concordia Wisconsin
2008-09   Aurora   Concordia Wisconsin
2007-08   Aurora   Concordia Wisconsin
2006-07   Aurora   Aurora