Harvey Headlines NACC Men's Basketball Awards

Tahron Harvey
Tahron Harvey

The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference men's basketball awards have been announced for the 2016-17 season. All awards are voted on by the league's head coaches.

Benedictine University's Tahron Harvey was named Player of the Year, Rockford University's Zach Wallace was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year, Concordia University Chicago's Jarek Hotwagner was awarded Freshman of the Year while Benedictine's Keith Bunkenburg was voted Coach of the Year by his peers.

Harvey (Country Club Hills, Illinois) led the NACC champion Eagles in scoring with 18.8 points per game, fourth in the league. He averaged 6.2 assists, second in the NACC, 7.0 rebounds and 1.7 steals per contest. Harvey shot 53.7 percent from the field, 40 percent from downtown and 81.8 percent from the free-throw line. The senior guard, who logged a triple-double in the regular-season finale, makes his second straight appearance on the All-NACC first team.

Wallace (Rockford, Ill.), who was also a first-team selection, was the conference leader in both blocks per game, at 2.8, and rebounds per game, at 11.5, for the Regents (9-16, 8-12 NACC).

Hotwagner (New Buffalo, Michigan) posted averages of 11.9 points, 8.4 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.1 steals per contest for the Cougars (5-20, 4-16).

No. 11 Benedictine (21-4, 19-1) won the NACC regular season title for the third straight season, second straight outright, with Bunkenburg at the helm. The Eagles capped off the regular season with 10 consecutive victories and earned the top seed in the NACC Men's Basketball Tournament.