All-NACC Men's Basketball Team Highlighted by MSOE's Kirmse

The NACC has announced its major awards and all-conference teams for the 2018-19 men's basketball season.
The NACC has announced its major awards and all-conference teams for the 2018-19 men's basketball season.

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) men's basketball awards have been announced for the 2018-19 season. All awards are voted on by the league's head coaches.

Milwaukee School of Engineering's Matthew Kirmse was named Player of the Year, while teammate Jason Palesse shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with Max Hisatake of Illinois Institute of Technology.

Kirmse, a junior guard, appeared in each of the Raiders' 26 games this season, averaging 19.0 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. He ranked third in the NACC in scoring while shooting 48.8 percent from the field. Kirmse was also one of the league's top 3-point shooters, draining a league best 76 while hitting at a 42.9-percent clip.

He topped 30 points on three occasions, capped by a 35-point effort against Concordia Chicago on Jan. 19. Kirmse also had a 34-point, 11-rebound double-double in a two-point win over Benedictine on Jan. 3.

Palesse, a senior guard, also played in all 26 games for MSOE this season, averaging 10.5 points, 5.5 assists, 3.6 rebounds, and 2.0 assists per game while shooting 48.4 percent from the field. He led the NACC in assists (144) and ranked second in steals (53).

Hisatake, a post player, played in 27 games this season, averaging 11.7 points, 10.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.7 blocks per game. He led the league in blocks with 46 and ranked third in the league in rebounding.

Concordia University Chicago forward Landen Gladney was selected as the Freshman of the Year. Gladney played in all 25 games for the Cougars this season, starting all but one. He ranked second in the NACC in both rebounds (307) and rebounds per game (12.3), third in free throws (109-159) and sixth in both blocks (23) and scoring average (17.7 ppg). Overall, Gladney had double-doubles in 21 out of 25 games to rank among the leaders in NCAA Division III.

MSOE's Brian Miller was voted Coach of the Year by his peers for the first time after directing the Raiders (21-5, 16-4 NACC) to a share of the program's first conference regular-season title since 1982 and the top seed in the NACC Tournament. In his 15th season at the helm of the Raiders, Miller has accumulated a 240-153 record.

Concordia Wisconsin led all schools with three all-NACC picks, including two first-teamers. No other NACC school had more than one first-team selection. Aurora, Illinois Tech and MSOE each had two all-NACC honorees, while Benedictine, Concordia Chicago, Edgewood, Lakeland, Rockford and Wisconsin Lutheran had one apiece.

The complete awards listing appears below.

2019 NACC Men's Basketball Awards
Player of the Year: Matthew Kirmse, MSOE
Defensive Player of the Year: tie, Max Hisatake, Illinois Tech, & Jason Palesse, MSOE
Freshman of the Year: Landen Gladney, Concordia Chicago
Coach of the Year: Brian Miller, MSOE

First Team School Yr. Pos. Hometown High School
Bailey Vance Aurora So. F Roselle, Ill. Lake Park
Eric Grygo Benedictine Jr. F Addison, Ill. Addison Trail
Mitch Pelissier Concordia Chicago Sr. G Puyallup, Wash. Mount Rainier Lutheran
Andrew Fratzke Concordia Wisconsin Sr. F Winona, Minn. Hope Lutheran
Josh Hau Concordia Wisconsin Sr. G Slinger, Wis. Slinger
Jake Negus Edgewood So. G Janesville, Wis. Craig
Jake Digiorgio Illinois Tech Sr. F Ironwood, Mich. Luther L. Wright
Matthew Kirmse MSOE Jr. G Saukville, Wis. Port Washington
Tony Diemer Rockford Sr. F Rockford, Ill. Boylan
Collin Kennedy Wisconsin Lutheran Sr. F Holmen, Wis. Luther
Second Team School Yr. Pos. Hometown High School
Tyler Carlson Aurora Sr. F Elburn, Ill. Kaneland
Jordan Johnson Concordia Wisconsin So. G Cedarburg, Wis. Cedarburg
Max Hisatake Illinois Tech Jr. C Las Vegas, Nev. The Meadows School
Pat McDonald Lakeland Sr. G Port Washington, Wis. Port Washington
Jason Palesse MSOE Sr. G New Berlin, Wis. West Allis Hale
Honorable Mention School Yr. Pos. Hometown High School
Kenny Bogus Benedictine Jr. G Roselle, Ill. Lake Park
Landen Gladney Concordia Chicago Fr. F Chicago, Ill. St. Rita
Andrew Bruggink Wisconsin Lutheran Jr. G Brookfield, Wis. Central