MSOE's Kirmse Earns NABC All-Region, CoSIDA Academic All-Region Honors

MSOE's Kirmse Earns NABC All-Region, CoSIDA Academic All-Region Honors

Release courtesy of MSOE athletics communications

MILWAUKEE, Wis. - Matthew Kirmse (Saukville, Wis./Port Washington) keeps racking up the honors. The fourth-year junior added two more this afternoon, as he has been named to both the Google Cloud Academic All-American® third team and the NABC Division III All-District second team. 

Kirmse's 3.88 GPA in Actuarial Science was good enough to land him on the Google Cloud Academic All-American® third team, which is selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), the same year in which teammate Jason Palesse (New Berlin, Wis. / West Allis Hale) earned second team honors.  Shortly after that award was announced, Kirmse was named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division III All-District second team in the central region. 

Kirmse, the NACC's 2018-19 player of the year, and member of the NACC all-conference first team in back to back years, dominated the courts this past season. He averaged 18.9 points per game, easily leading the team in that category, and started in all 26 contests. His 42.6 shooting percentage from behind the arc places him in sixth on the single season record book, and his 75 three pointers led the conference for the second straight season. Kirmse had seven games with 25 points or more during the 2018-19 campaign, highlighted by a 35-point performance against Concordia-Chicago on January 19th. With 208 career treys, he breached the top five in the Raider's career records, landing him in fourth. He is also ranked in 13th all-time with 1,127 career points.

Kirmse is now the 36th Raiders student-athlete to join a CoSIDA Academic All-American team, the second this year, and one of eight total awards for the men's basketball program in that category. 

First Team                                                             
Ben Boots, UW Oshkosh
Will Carius, Monmouth
Robert Duax, UW Platteville
Nolan Ebel, Augustana
Aston Francis, Wheaton
Connor Raridan, North Central                                            
Second Team
Jack Flynn, UW Oshkosh
Matthew Kirmse, Milwaukee School of Engineering
Jack Nolan, Washington University in St. Louis
Micah Paulson, Principia
Brady Rose, Illinois Wesleyan
Player of the Year: Ben Boots, UW Oshkosh
Coach of the Year: Matt Lewis, UW Oshkosh