All-NACC Men's Soccer Teams Announced

The NACC announced its 2019 men's soccer major awards and all-conference team.
The NACC announced its 2019 men's soccer major awards and all-conference team.

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) has announced its major awards and all-conference teams for the 2019 men's soccer season. All awards are voted on by the league's head coaches.

Dominican University's Isaac Perez was named NACC Offensive Player of the Year, while NACC Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Aurora University's David Cahue and NACC Freshman of the Year honors went to Vicente Castro of Dominican University. Aurora's Ryan Lakin was named NACC Men's Soccer Coach of the Year.

Heading into Saturday's NACC Men's Soccer Tournament final, Perez leads all NACC players in scoring (42 points) and goals (16) and ranks second in assists (10) and third in game-winning goals (4). He has recorded a point in 11 of 16 games overall - and all but one NACC contest - this season, highlighted by a hat trick against MSOE on Oct. 9 and a pair of two-goal games (vs. Millikin on Sept. 21, vs. Lakeland on Oct. 12).

Cahue, who started all 19 games as the Spartans' right cornerback, helped anchor an Aurora defense that conceded just nine goals in league play. His play allowed AU to maintain possession and connect out of the defensive third on a consistent basis. Cahue also contributed in the attacking third, registering three assists.

Castro has had a superb rookie season for the Stars. He ranks fourth among NACC players with 31 points on the strength 10 goals and a league-leading 11 assists. Five of Castro's 10 goals have been game-winners, tied for most among NACC players.

Lakin, in his sixth season at the helm, led Aurora to a 13-5-1 mark overall, a 10-0-1 record in league play and a share of the program's first NACC title. The Spartans averaged 3.27 goals in 11 NACC matches while posting an 0.79 goals-against average. 

Overall, Dominican and Aurora each had a league-high seven players recognized between the two 14-member all-conference teams with six Stars and four Spartans named to the first team. Benedictine, Concordia Wisconsin and MSOE each ended up with three all-league selections, while Concordia Chicago, Edgewood, Illinois Tech, Rockford and Wisconsin Lutheran receiving one apiece.

2019 All-Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Men's Soccer Team
Offensive Player of the Year - Isaac Perez, Dominican
Defensive Player of the Year - David Cahue, Aurora
Freshman of the Year - Vicente Castro, Dominican
Coach of the Year - Ryan Lakin, Aurora
Pos. First Team School Yr. Hometown High School
GK Daniel Dominguez Dominican So. Elgin, Ill. Streamwood
D David Cahue Aurora So. Romeoville, Ill. Romeoville
D Benny Masi Benedictine Sr. Chicago, Ill. Rolling Meadows
D Randy Pietrowski Dominican So. Wheeling, Ill. Wheeling
D Nicolo Vitale Dominican Sr. Sheboygan, Wis. Sheboygan North
MF Julio Acosta Aurora Fr. West Chicago, Ill. Addison Trail
MF Henry Zehnal Aurora Jr. Aurora, Ill. Waubonsie Valley
MF Vicente Castro Dominican Fr. Wheeling, Ill. Wheeling
F Justin Rutherford Aurora Jr. McHenry, Ill. McHenry West
F Lukasz Sulka Benedictine Sr. Bridgeview, Ill. Lemont
F Jackson Dryden Concordia Wisconsin So. Whitefish Bay, Wis. Whitefish Bay
F Jonathan Hernandez Dominican So. Addison, Ill. Addison Trail
F Isaac Perez Dominican Sr. Elgin, Ill. South Elgin
F Joey Schauer MSOE Jr. Milwaukee, Wis. Whitnall
Pos. Second Team School Yr. Hometown High School
GK Jose Retana Concordia Chicago Sr. Glendale Heights, Ill. Glenbard North
D Connor Erickson Aurora Fr. New Lenox, Ill. Lincoln-Way Central
D Melvin Mora Aurora Fr. Addison, Ill. Addison Trail
D Owen Hanisko Concordia Wisconsin Sr. Hartford, Wis. Hartford
D Noah Kwortnik Illinois Tech Jr. North Wales, Pa. North Penn
D Lucas D'Amato MSOE Jr. Brookfield, Wis. Brookfield East
MF Salvador Garcia Aurora So. Aurora, Ill. Batavia
MF Will King Concordia Wisconsin So. Maidenhead, England First Platt Senior School
MF Nick Kowalczyk Dominican Fr. Nowy Targ, Poland Lockport
MF Drew Baumann MSOE Sr. Wind Lake, Wis. Muskego
F Hayden Van Son Benedictine Jr. Great Falls, Mont. Great Falls
F Brian Root Edgewood So. Merrill, Wis. Waunakee
F Ryan Munch Rockford Sr. Rockford, Ill. Genoa-Kingston
F Jason Cano Wisconsin Lutheran So. Delavan, Wis. Delavan-Darien
Pos. Honorable Mention School Yr. Hometown High School
D Tomasz Kulak Benedictine Jr. Chicago, Ill. Stagg
MF Ron Smith Benedictine Sr. Country Club Hills, Ill. Hillcrest
MF George Omondi-Soipan Benedictine Jr. Nairobi, Kenya Palatine
D Alexis Gallegos Ruiz Concordia Chicago Fr. Joliet, Ill. Joliet West
MF Juan Valencia Concordia Chicago Fr. Chicago, Ill. Von Steuben
MF Martin Lamas Dominican So. Berwyn, Ill. Morton West
MF Sean Surtees Edgewood Sr. Madison, Wis. Memorial
D Victor Lombardino Edgewood Sr. Sun Prairie, Wis. Sun Prairie
MF Chase Hayden Marian Fr. Wauconda, Ill. Wauconda
GK Ron Marchionna MSOE So. Naperville, Ill. Central
GK Francesco Martincig Rockford Fr. Udine, Italy Liceo Scientifico Sportivo A. Volta