Marian's Fox, Aurora's Walker Named NFCA Division III All-Americans

Marian's Ally Fox and Aurora's Elaine Walker have been named NFCA Division III All-Americans.
Marian's Ally Fox and Aurora's Elaine Walker have been named NFCA Division III All-Americans.

Portions courtesy of Aurora University athletics communications and Marian University athletics communications

TYLER, Texas --- Marian University junior Ally Fox (Greenville, Wis.) and Aurora University senior Elaine Walker (Schaumburg, Ill.) are among the 45 individuals recognized by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Wednesday as members of the organization's 2019 NCAA Division III All-America softball teams.

The honorees were recognized during the NCAA Division III Championship banquet at the Herrington Patriot Center on the campus of the University of Texas at Tyler.

Fox was named to the All-America First Team, while Walker - now a two-time All-America - was selected to the second team.

Fox had a dominant season at the plate proving herself as one of the best hitters in not only the NACC but the nation. She ranked fourth in the country, second in the NACC, with 71 hits while posting a league-leading .511 batting average that ranked eighth in Division III. Fox also posted the highest on-base percentage in the NACC while ranking 13th in the country at .567.  Her .612 slugging percentage was the fifth-highest in the conference as she went on to record 85 total bases, third in the NACC.

She set program single-season records for batting average, hits and stolen bases (28) while posting the second-highest on-base percentage in 2019. It was only the sixth time in Marian history a hitter recorded an on-base percentage above .500.

In three seasons, Fox has produced the program's top career marks in batting average (.446), on-base percentage (.491) and stolen bases (74). She is only the third Sabre to post a career batting average above .400. Fox also ranks fourth all-time at Marian in hits (177) and seventh in runs scored (113).

Walker finished 2019 with a team-leading .474 batting average, 14 doubles, one triple, nine home runs, 43 runs batted in and 48 runs scored. She added a .750 slugging percentage and .520 on-base percentage while fielding .946. She departs as one of the most decorated Spartan softball players in program history. She holds career records for at-bats (619), hits (275), singles (187), doubles (54), runs batted in (163) and batting average (.444).

2019 marked the fourth straight season that Walker was honored by the NFCA as an All-Region selection while she was also announced as one of 25 finalists for the National Player of the Year award. Walker earned NFCA First-Team All-Region honors in 2016, 2018 and 2019 along with second-team honors in 2017. As a freshman in 2016, she was named first-team All-America by the NFCA as well as the Division III Catcher of the Year. The NFCA Division III All-America softball teams are selected from the pool of players who earned first-team All-Region recognition by eight NCAA Division III head coaches representing the eight NCAA regions.


FIRST TEAM        
Pitcher Hanna Hull %* JR Virginia Wesleyan University
Pitcher Ally Wiegand % JR Illinois Wesleyan University
Catcher Ashley Perez % SO University of Texas at Tyler
First Base Mackenzie Chitwood SR University of Lynchburg
Second Base Ally Fox JR Marian University (Wis.)
Third Base Kaitlyn Hasty FR Christopher Newport University
Shortstop Vada Blue Sherrill % SR Pfeiffer University
Utility Alix DeDreu SR Thomas More University
Designated Player Jordan Day SO Lesley University
Outfield Patty Maye Ohanian % SO Christopher Newport University
Outfield Melissa Livermore %*# SR University of Texas at Dallas
Outfield Nicole Garcia % SR University of Texas at Tyler
At-Large Kierstin Anderson-Glass JR University of St. Thomas (Minn.)
At-Large Stefanie Guercio JR Carthage College
At-Large Caraline Wood SR Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Pitcher Beatriz Lara FR East Texas Baptist University
Pitcher Colleen Bentke % SR University of Texas at Tyler
Catcher Jess McGuire SR The College of New Jersey
First Base Andrea Gahan % JR Thomas More University
Second Base Makenzie Pennell JR Pfeiffer University
Third Base Lauren Conroy SO The College of New Jersey
Shortstop Elaine Walker # SR Aurora University
Utility Hannah Thompson FR Averett University
Designated Player Megan Perron SO Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Outfield Mariann Kennison SR Piedmont College
Outfield Caroline Ratti SR Kean University
Outfield Kelly Jurden SO Texas Lutheran University
At-Large Avery Alberghini SR University of New England
At-Large Shelby Bergeron SR Louisiana College
At-Large Jackie Bilotti SR Arcadia University
THIRD TEAM        
Pitcher Alyssa Olson SR Coe College
Pitcher Katlyn Smith SO Maryville College (Tenn.)
Catcher Evonne Torres SR Manhattanville College
First Base Shannon Lloyd JR Keystone College
Second Base Melissa Barry SR University of St. Thomas (Minn.)
Third Base Julia Sinnett SO Virginia Wesleyan University
Shortstop Makenna Clizer JR Linfield College
Utility Jackie Riley SR Kean University
Designated Player Bailey Murphy JR Birmingham-Southern College
Outfield Gen Brittingham SO Wellesley College
Outfield Megan Zinn JR University of Scranton
Outfield Krissy Hughes SR Muskingum University
At-Large Morgan Bolduk SO Eastern Connecticut State Univ.
At-Large Haley Jones SR Coe College
At-Large Taylor Mabry % SR University of Lynchburg

% denotes 2018 All-American
* denotes 2017 All-American
# denotes 2016 All-American