Eight NACC Women's Programs, Dominican Men Earn AVCA Team Academic Award

Eight NACC Women's Programs, Dominican Men Earn AVCA Team Academic Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. --- Nine Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) volleyball programs - eight women's and one men's - are among the record 1,125 teams that have earned the Team Academic Award from the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Complete List of Recipients

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

Aurora University, Concordia University Chicago, Concordia University Wisconsin, Dominican University, Edgewood College, Lakeland University, Rockford University and Wisconsin Lutheran College were among the 175 NCAA Division III women's programs to secure the honor, while the Dominican men were one of just 19 men's collegiate programs to earn recognition.

Concordia Wisconsin leads all NACC programs with 14 total honors, including the last five in succession, while the Dominican women, Edgewood, and Lakeland have all been honored 11 times. Aurora has earned a total of six honors, Wisconsin Lutheran three and Concordia Chicago two, while Rockford made its debut appearance on the list in 2018-2019. Dominican (10 years) and Edgewood (nine years) have the longest current streak of Team Academic Awards.

This is the fourth honor overall for the Dominican men.

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by quantity of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but two, while more than doubling the total over the last eight academic years. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 1,125.